The curriculum at New Brighton Catholic School is based on the New Zealand Curriculum Framework and is umbrella’d by our religious education and virtues programme that aims to teach values inherent in our Catholic faith.

The NZ curriculum covers the eight Learning Areas of:

  • English
  • The Arts
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Learning Languages
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Science
  • Social Sciences
  • Technology

The curriculum also identifies the five key competencies of:

  • Thinking
  • Using Language, Symbols and Texts
  • Managing Self
  • Relating to Others and
  • Participating and Contributing

‘Walking in the Footsteps of Jesus’ is New Brighton Catholic’s programme to make our Catholic Virtues a living integral part of our school life.


Values, Key Competencies and Learning Areas

The New Zealand Curriculum identifies values to be encouraged and modelled and to be explored by students, key competencies that students will develop over time and in a range of settings, and learning areas that describe what they will come to know and do.



Cybersmart Student User Information

Cybersmart Student User agreement

National Curriculum and Progress standards